Skip to main content

Textbook Affordability Committee

The Textbook Affordability Committee (TAC) is an external subcommittee of the Academic Senate charged with developing strategies to reduce textbook costs for courses at Illinois State University. The Textbook Committee reports to the Academic Affairs Committee.


  • To research textbook cost at Illinois State University
  • Examine different textbook issues for each College
  • Actively seek out more affordable options for students
  • Educate faculty on resources available to pick the best and most affordable textbook
  • To analyze the cost benefit of textbook rental programs
  • Inform faculty on open-source textbook options
  • Develop a short-term and long-term strategic plan
  • Recommend solutions to reduce textbook costs


  • Mallory Jallas- Milner Library (Chairperson)
  • Danielle Miller-Schuster- Division of Student Affairs
  • Sally Nadeau- Office of the University Registrar
  • Lisa Lawless- University College
  • Joe Hendrix- Student Affairs
  • Julie Murphy- Faculty Member
  • Tom Lucey- Faculty Member
  • Antonio Causarano- Faculty Member
  • Stephanie Duquenne- Faculty Member
  • Taylor Daker- Student Member
  • Morgan Taylor- Student Senator